Done!

I finished the cabled brim hat and I must say, toot toot. I started with the yarn I was so excited to use – a watermelon color alpaca – but after getting it into a giant knotted ball, I realized I didn’t have enough. I ended up using a raspberry Vanna’s Choice (don’t judge) I had from another project.

The pattern had you make the hat in three pieces starting with the hat. Cables are a lot of fun, and if you’ve never done them I hope you’re not intimidated – seriously, super easy. Here’s the giant ear warmer version.

Next came the brim, stuffed with plastic from a Cool Whip container (I had to take a couple of bites to empty it…it helps in the creative process). Then I knit a thin strip for the band.

I always get nervous at this part of the project – will it actually work? Is this going to be lame? As the creator, you find all of the flaws and weirdness, which I think is part of the lure of homemade projects for a lot of people. But if you’re a perfectionist, it can be the death of any creative endeavor. I kept on going though and with some tacking, readjusting, buttons, and input from the family as I jammed pins into my head, viola! It didn’t turn out wonky!

7 responses to “Done!

  • shari321go

    Love it!! That color looks b-e-a-utiful on you!!

  • Mama Snod

    It looks awesome. And it is a great color.

  • YaYa Sommer

    Way to go Alley Cat! It is great! I think you have inspired me to knit one for myself. I like the bigger projects, but this is great!!!

  • Erin W

    It looks great on beautiful YOU! Sure do miss seeing you, E and P!

  • Brandi Praytor-Marsters

    I LOVE IT! That’s exactly what I’ve been looking for to buy at stores…I should just pay you! šŸ˜€

  • kenika

    I don’t understand how to knit brim.
    i’m confusing. Could you please explain to me step by step.
    if you can show it by video it will help me a lot.

    • Alley Cat

      I don’t have the capabilities to make a video, but I’ll write out the pattern further if that makes it easier…hopefully it helps. Mind you, the brim is its own separate piece that you will sew on after making the hat and strap.

      With knitting needles, cast on 40 sts. Begin with a right side row, work in St st and work short-row shaping as follows:
      Row 1: Knit 25, turn.
      Row 2: Slip 1, p12; turn.
      Row 3: Slip 1, k15; turn.
      Row 4: Slip 1, p18; turn.
      Row 5: Slip 1, k 21; turn.
      Row 6: Slip 1, p24; turn.
      Row 7: Slip 1, k 27; turn.
      Row 8: Slip 1, p 30; turn.
      Row 9: Slip 1, k 33; turn.
      Row 10: Slip 1, p 36; turn.
      Row 11: Slip 1, k 39; turn.
      Work 6 rows normal in St st. Bind off 2 sts at beg of next 10 rows=20 sts. Bind off 3 sts at the beg of next 4 rows=8 sts. Bind off.

      If you’re unclear about any of the techniques, check out videos on Knitting Help
      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

