Dog Gone Crazy

As promised, here is the Labrador dog I’ve been working on since October. This pattern stretched me to the limits! Very detailed and precise, lots of pieces (12 total to seam together), and LOTS of time!

I learned (again) the importance of reading a pattern before you start it. I saw this one, thought, “Oh, perfect! They have a Labrador dog so they’ll love this!” and failed to read that the pattern was 7 pages long and is knitted on size 2 needles (translation: instant carpal tunnel.)

I also learned that I am not a perfectionist when it comes to my knitting. This little guy looks more like Santa’s Little Helper from The Simpsons than a sophisticated pooch, but he’s cute and kind of loveable in his goofy way. I’m glad to have finished it despite my feelings of wanting to burn it halfway through.

How could I burn that sweet little face though with his wonky eyes? Side note: I made his little collar too…on my sewing machine…with a one and a half year old in my lap. Job well done. And yes, I feel totally justified in congratulating myself.

Leave a Reply

